• This topic is empty.
Viewing 21 reply threads
  • Author
      Viper65

Let’s see…..sweep the floor, take out trash, scrub the toilets, clean the counter tops, do any other
      Bullshit jobs that some lazy a$$ doesn’t want to do, share all your work for someone
      To potentially steal it? All to learn how to tatto, probably from some idiot that can’t
      Draw a stick figure…nah….ill pass. I just don’t get it….do you seriously think your mentor
      Will really share his secrets? I’m a artist and have a few of my own and I don’t care
      If you come clean my house every day of the week…your not getting them.

Viper,
      Most skilled professions require that the individual who wants to learn them goes to a vocational school. There are no real secrets in the tattoo industry any more. The information is available for sale in countless books and DVDs. You could consider these things tattoo secrets I guess. If you are an artist and you utilize your apprentices for labour and you are not teaching them anything then you are a pretty lame example of a mentor.
      Tattoo apprenticeships are not really supposed to be slave labour. The reason so many of the old school artists would haze their apprentices, using them for excessive chores and things outside the shop was because tattoo was once a VERY guarded profession. The artists did not poses very much artistic skill, only technical knowledge. There is a big difference in tattooing. You should be an artist before you become a tattooist. If you are very secretive and guarded about your profession it is typically because you are worried that the apprentice is actually a better artist – and if he grasps the technical skills that you might have – then he might open his own shop or take clients from you (insecurity leads to secrecy).