• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 reply threads
  • Author
      jakester357

:x My teacher crapped out on me. What really sucks is that I did 90 percent of the new shop setup. Paint,plumbing,electrical,HVAC, carpentry. Everything it takes to fit an old building into a proper Tattoo shop. As I am a facility mantainence mechanic by trade.I gave him my services and support to open up shop in my home town. He is a self proclaimed “World Famous Tattoo artist. He’s rubbed shoulders with the industry’s finest.His shop has photos of him with various celebrities of the entertainment industry. And some of the Tattoo world’s pioneers. He tattooed me when I was 14. And I was the only kid in school with a professional tattoo. That was 26 years ago. He moved here almost 2 years ago and gave me a half-assed commitment. To apprentice me. Well I got the basics from the A to Z book and continued info. from the Basics of modern tattooing book. Anyway I showed him a lot of commitment before he bailed on me. Now I’m “scratching” on willing friends for free. I know all the proper sterilization procedures. I’m even certified through my current job. Because it is in a Healthcare setting. I have a strong passion to tattoo. But I know I need a lot more instruction. from a teniored Pro. Any suggestions on how to find a new teacher would be great. I’m currently tattooing a good friends’ old work. In sessions as not to damage this person. “piece-meal” Work a little. Allow the skin to heal. Work a little more. And I’ve done pretty well tattooing my leg. I tattooed another friend the same way “piece-meal” sessions The end result was good. After 5 sessions with 2 & 4 week breaks in between.