• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      TexasPT

I’ve been working on practice skin and trying to build lines. I don’t have a problem putting down clean lines initially but when I try to get them bigger they get all crazy. I know the book says think of it as three parts, the two lines running parallel and then the “filler”…

Do you “fill” the lines with the liner or is it better to fill it up when you switch to a mag or shader? Or does it simply depend on the thickness of the line you are trying to build?

Thanks in advance for opinions on this one.
      Mark

jtdaltonsr

In my experience, which, im not a pro yet so u will know, but when i have multiple line thickness within one piece, I will do the outside lines, then fill in with the magnum. I was told to try with the liner, but Im afraid i may turn to oatmeal if i do that. So if i were u, I would FIRST try with the mag setup, if THAT doesnt work, ask your mentor.

I did a Hawaiian piece on my thigh a few days ago… Internal lines’re pretty wonky, and I’m going to go over them with a 9 liner, then shade, to correct that wonkiness. (Tattooing the outside edge of ones own thigh is rather awkward…) But, the filling on the outer triangles, I’m really pleased with, and that was done with a color packer set at nickel and dime thickness between contact screw and front spring, and a soft spring, which gives a little ‘backwards travel’ when it hits the needle (When running, the blur of the A bar creates a very tight pyramid in the center of the blur) and it hits soft as butter on the skin. Took a couple of passes with a 7 shader, but the ink is in there solid. Moral of the story, is I would suggest using a similar technique, and simply using the appropriate size shader to do the fill between the outer lines :)

http://i141.photobucket.com/albums/r44/TreadstoneArt/DSCN4007-Copy.jpg

messijesse