• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      dlHunter

Hello everyone.

My name is Dave. I’ve been a long time admirer of the Art of the Tattoo, and have huge respect for the artists that make it happen. As a photographer, I had the opportunity, along with several other photographers, to spend several hours in a local Tattoo Parlor here in Salt Lake. It was fabulous and I got many fine images of artists and clients in the process of getting new ink. It was a great experience and I hope to get the opportunity to repeat it. (No flash was used during the sessions, so as not to distract the process.)

My dear wife has no taste for Tattoo’s what-so-ever. I just bought a Kit to get started after many years of foot dragging. It arrived today. Well, Momma was not impressed in the least, and I now have the job of learning this awesome art so that she will see some value in the venture. I told her she has a nice rose in her future, she said I have a swift kick to rear in mine.

The Kit has two Rotary Machines included. Eventually, I’ll get a tradition style machine to learn those as well. I’m looking forward to developing the understanding needed to succeed in this artform, and having the opportunity to discuss the journey with the members of this forum.

Thanks.

Dave…..

Stick with practice skins and oranges for a few months –
      Then try to get an apprenticeship in a real shop – once your drawing portfolio is up there.

I’ll counter that, by saying drop your pants and tattoo your own thighs. Practice skins and oranges just aren’t the same, and you might as well learn on the medium you will be working on right from the beginning… And don’t sweat about getting an apprenticeship. It’s not rocket science to teach yourself to tattoo, and you don’t need to get some elitist artist treat you like a slave in order to do that :)

dlHunter

Thanks, so much, for the comments.