• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Hated

I just happened across the forum a few days ago. I’m 39 and I’ve been learning to tattoo for probably almost a year now.
      I’ve been an artist for as long as I can remember and took 3 years of commercial art classes as a vo-tech option in high school where i learned various art subjects but mostly concentrated on airbrush and oil mediums. Needless to say that was quite a while ago and since I stared learning tattooing I’ve also had to go back relearn a lot of basics like color theory/color wheel.

I’m working on building a small studio on my property based off of the tattoo studio health codes, just for drawing flash and doing tattoos as a hobby. I dont have an apprenticeship as where i live there are just a few shops and they are flooded with people wanting to learn. I wanted to learn when I was 18 but i’ve had this unhealthy phobia of blood and needles since i was a little kid. I never thought i could handle it but then one day my stepdaughter went to get her first tat and I went along just to harass her, it was being done on the top of her foot no less.

I sat there watching the artist do his thing and i realized that for some reason my phobia didn’t affect me at all and thats when i decided to try it for myself. So now i have a new obsession :lol: this stuff consumes my days and nights. I’m constantly reading, watching videos or reading forums trying to pick up any info i can on how to improve.

I went to visit a friend yesterday, hadnt seen him in about 2 yrs since my wife and I bought a house outside of where we used to live. I knew he has been doing tats for 20+ yrs but never really talked to him about it. He also build and repairs all kinds of bikes but mostly H-D and back when we lived closer i spent a few days a week helping him with mechanic stuff and he taught me a massive amount about rebuilding my old harley, sort of a bike building apprenticeship ;)