• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      cillalea5005

Hey! I am a 42y/o woman just getting started in tattooing. I have been a nurse 4 almost 20yrs now and have been feeling the beginning of burnout for awhile now. I started thinking about tattooing a year and a half ago.I got serious about it a year ago. I have been drawing,painting and doing other forms of art as a hobby all my life. So I went and bought every book/DVD on the subject I could find. I discovered that what they say about an apprenticeship is true. Like nursing,you can read about it forever,but U won’t be a great nurse until U watch other nurses. Unlike nursing,this is so hard 2 get into. I have studied with some “home-based” tattooists,but I was unhappy with their lack of use(and knowledge!) of universal precautions. In fact, one of the 1st guys I watched just gave his client a wicked MRSA infection that required emergency surgury. I know I am older than most apprentices,but I hope to find one soon. I have been doing actual work on family and friends.Anyone with any words of wisdom or support,would be appreciated.Wow! I didn’t mean to write a novel on my 1st post…I didn’t mean 2B so long-winded! any/all responses will be appreciated!

tattoo123

Honestly I think your age does not come into play here. But with age and work experience does come that skepticism concerning “universal precautions”. Both my wife and I have held and currently have jobs that uphold universal precautions, and come on… you know as a nurse… @#$$% HAPPENS! Does anyone die??? No. Be careful. As careful as you possibly can. Treat yourself and any one that volunteers to be tattooed as a “patient”. Matt

cillalea5005

Matt,