• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      fusciart

My name is Rich Fuscia and I would like to get into the tattoo business. I live in Atlanta, Ga. I’ve been an artist all my life. I’m currently a graphic artist working for a corporation in the printing world. I feel that I am not taking full advantage of my talent. I would like to get into the business but I don’t know where to start. I hope someone can steer me in the right direction. I was thinking of purchasing the 4 Gun Machine Starter Kit and practice on myself. I want to test the waters.

Link to my work.
      http://fusciart.com/

TexasPT

welcome to the site. Cool artwork, for sure.

There are two paths to take. You can seek an apprenticeship and be taught by people who have experience (while working for free) or you can be a “scratcher” and do it yourself. One method is obviously a faster track with a mentor but both have produced incredible artists in the tattooing world.

If you go it alone, study sterilization and what it will take for you to NOT infect yourself or anyone else. This is the biggest factor overlooked by people who go it alone. If you get a kit, break those machines down to the frame and rebuild them. The more you understand how your tools work the easier it becomes to use them properly.

this is a great site with lots of information. If you haven’t bought the CR Jordan book yet, it’s worth a read for sure.

Mark

fusciart

Thanks Mark.

fusciart

A little back story about myself. I’m 45, married with a 7 year old son. I have a pretty good job as a graphic artist . I work the second shift so I pretty much have my morning and early afternoons off to draw which is my absolute passion.