• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author

Hi there..
      My name is Sean & I am new to the tattoo world..kindof.
      Im from Canada, and I am eager to learn!
      I love drawing with pencils, I dont do or very much like painting too much Ive always prefered pencils.. I really would like to tattoo, I went out and bought myself a tattoo kit that came with practice skin to learn on and for the past two months I have been practicing on the skin and oranges, I then (I know Im gunna get hated on for this, and as Ive learned from the show NY Ink Im going to be called a “scratcher” lol) I did a couple on myself (small ones) and then friends have bugged me to do some on them so I did free of charge (they are willing to let me practice on them for some reason) But I dont really want to do that as I dont want to be the reason their skin is scarred up or not looking nice. I can do the outlines and everything well, I think I have a very steady hand, but the outcome of a tattoo did not come out the way I would have liked it too. Being the reason why I am here, I would love to learn.. An apprenticeship is somewhat out of the question as right now I am working, I have a daughter on the way and I am a College student.
      Am looking forward to talking to the guys and gals here, hopefully I dont make any enemies calling me a “scratcher” lol

Ramenuzumaki
      Participant

welcome to the forum dude!
      buy the book from this website, and use youtube
      youtube helped me a lot when i was first starting
      The angle and depth of your needle are VERY important when doing a tattoo
      as well as how your machine is tuned
      when setting your voltage ignore what people say for a set voltage, and go by sound
      turn it ALL the way down and slowly turn it up
      you’ll hear what i call “kicking over”
      the it goes from a dull sound to a new higher sound