• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      rob

Hey guys my names rob, im from sydney australia. Not currently an apprentice. I dont know if you guys know how it works in aus but in order to tattoo in a shop you need to be affiliated with a bikie gang and thats not something im willing to do. you also belong to the shop for as long as they want you to. So basically i teach myself using what i can find out there and a couple of good friends who are willing to give me a hand. Ill probably have some dumb questions to ask but its not like i can just walk into a shop and ask so hopefully someone out there is willing to give me hand, i think i can become an excellent tattooist with a bit of help.

liam

hi rob im liam from perth australia. im studying art at tafe (then uni) to one day hopefully get an apprentiship. havent tattooed anything yet, more focused on my drawing and painting atm although ive got 2 machines.
      just regarding the tattoo industry in australia: heaps of ppl tell me beware bikies run the industry and i dont wanna end up having to rob a servo(american=gas station) in some bikie gang initiation shit to get myself a apprenticeship either. haha. i keep my ears open for any tattoo industry news on this subject hey and apparently the industry in perth isnt as bikie dominated anymore. ive been told of a few shops that supposedly arent run by bikies. ive heard of plenty more that are but still at least theres some that are not. ten years ago it was a different story though. ill try find the link to this interview with a perth tattoo artist ‘shrume’ who talks about the industry in australia a bit. anyway the only reason im trying to get an apprenticeship is cas apparently the industry in perth isnt totally dominated by bikies anymore soo.. come to perth man. haha. if i find that it is still bikie dominated then ill try overseas for apprenticeship. anyway love to know what you think man.