• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 reply threads
  • Author
      bobbylink

I’m a total beginner, and i just dare i say purchased my first kit. I’v adjusted the springs and screws for lining and shading on my machines, but for some reason all of my machines keep stopping in the middle of tattoing. Dont be alarmed i’m not tattooing people, just fake skin and fruit for now, and i want to do myself but not until i fix my problem. The machines just stop, there is still power getting to them but the needle just isnt moving unless i flick the coils. Any advice is helpful advice and i appreciate it all. Thank you.

TexasPT

Possibilities include but are not limited to…

Too large a gap on contact screw keeping machine from getting power to the magnets from a stand still. (this would explain why when you flick it, and create momentum they run again)

Voltage too low (not all machines run at specific voltage…just because a book or a forum said 6v you might need 9)

maybe the contact screws are not tightened enough. I’ve had them spin both in and out…both end up with machine at a standstill at some point.

If you don’t have the Fundamentals of tattooing book yet, get it. Lots of information on stuff like this.

bobbylink

my gap is set at a dime, the voltage is up around 8 when lining, i just ordered the book, i appreciate the response

TexasPT

turn your voltage to 11 and see if it stalls :)

Sabine2602

I know this is no prof. answer … but a year ago I had the same problem and fixed it by simply using a rubber band – … for my hair.

Was working on pigskin and the every now and then it stopped without any reason – till I noticed that one of my hairs was in the way and broke the contact. Now when working on friends I always have my hair in a knot and not just for working clean but also for saving me lots of anger.

So if all the technical solutions wont work… give the simple answer a try :oops:

bobbylink