• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 reply threads
  • Author
      dragonborn

hey I’m new to the tattooing world but i am interested in becoming an artist. i’ve been drawing my whole life and i would like to think that i’m pretty good at it ;) i joined this forum because i want to know as much about tattooing as possible before i ever start tattooing on a real person so absolutely any advice is very much appreciated :D

i have designed one tattoo so far and i am currently waiting on the book “Basic Fundamentals Of Modern Tattoo.” i have a couple questions that i hope you guys can answer for me:

1) what should i be looking for when buying a tattoo gun and ink?
      2) what can i start tattooing on?
      3) do you need a tattoo to give a tattoo?

again, any advice or comment is appreciated :D

Infamous
      Participant

Welcome to the forum! And I am glad to see you asking questions! lol

1. First of all, not to be rude but professionals call it a machine, so never call it that if you want to sound like a pro lol.
      But to answer the question, well you know what if you have that book coming it will explain it a lot better. Just look for quality and good reviews. You should get your supplies from a place like http://www.tattoomachineequipment.com not amazon or ebay if you want to get quality stuff. Not to say you can’t find quality stuff there, but its a gamble.

2. Start tattooing on practice skin, practically any citrus fruit (most prefer honeydew melons), or pig skin (if you can get your hands on some, it is probably the closest thing to human skin)

3. Hell no

Rscotti91
      Participant

@Infamous wrote:

1. First of all, not to be rude but professionals call it a machine, so never call it that if you want to sound like a pro lol.