• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 reply threads
  • Author
      rob

hey guys complete novice here. i was wondering if someone could shed some light on grey wash. What is it used for exactly. can you use greywash to blockshade letters for example or only for depth shading. Sorry if i sound stupid but this is the first time ive been able to ask these questions

xDreamerx
      Participant

You should consider reading Jordans book. You can find the link here on this site somewhere lol Its good reading for beginners. I think questions like yours would benefit you to read it.

As for greywash, you can use it for anything you want. Coloring, shading, shadows, powder shading…etc. Its up to you as the artist on how to manipulate and control it. So there is no real rule set in place that says what you can or cant do with greywash….goodluck and have fun and most importantly be safe in this art form! !

rob

Thanks alot mate, appreciate the help

xDreamerx
      Participant

no offense but I like hearing that word “mate” reminds me my friends I used to compete with online (gaming) from the UK and other places.

jtdaltonsr

what exactly is powder shading? ive seen that term floating around, never asked what it was though….

xDreamerx
      Participant

well I may be mis using the word lol I have always done very light shading and I’ve called it powder shading cause its soo light and you can’t see any stroke marks or as they say “rake” marks.

I thought I invented the word when I was teenager lol then I heard another person say it…….well its a very common word lol anyhow….long story short, its just a very light shading that hides your technique/strokes….thats my definition someone else may say it represents another form of shading, but thats just what I’ve always known it to be…..

evan