• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      JIF

feel free to comment or criticize ect.
      however, this is my apprenticeship (former apprenticeship would be more proper) story.
      i grew up in a suburb close to the city, since i was a freshman in highschool all i wanted was to tattoo, its one of those last true art forms that you can make a living doing. i spent days after days going into the same shop all the way through highschool and eventually gave up hope they’d take me on. i kept going and one day i got offered the dream. i niave of course, jumped on it. started cleaning the shop ect ect. it was fine and dandy for the first couple of months, drunk jager, was friendly to customers, did paperwork, thats all. then the brutal hazing began, which as a sidenote is probaly my fault for telling them i understood this and was ready to take whatever they threw. a few of the favorite stories ill share in a minute, im sure it will disgust you guys the horrible shit that went on, it makes me sick. but basically i went on with it and got into an apprenticeship got mostly done and one day they just dropped me out of the blue, told me they had kept no paperwork, no evidence i worked there and pretty much fucked me. i tried to get into other shops but, once youve tattooed around here, if you dont have your license, your a scratcher and dead to the tattoo community. which is a very shitty way to treat my situation. reguardless, i ended up living the dream being fucked over and lost it. some shop antics…. while drinking and smoking pot while tattooing is bad enough heres some days that made me want to quit. (p.s. i never indulged in such stupidity while working with anything steril-needed, even cleaning tubes, if i was drinking all i was doing was paperwork and answering the phone) the first crap incident was the guys joking around poking fun, deciding to try to “fit in” i made jokes back, punishment? picking up every ciggarette butt in the parking lot