• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      chr15

Hi I am new to tattooing and not sure what exactly is wrong with my set up. So far I have only managed one practice skin as my machine became very hot. It was returned and rebuilt by the builder (rewound coils new capacitor new springs and contact post/screw). When i got it back it ran fine but faded then stopped (no heat this time) but would start up if left for short time. I returned it once again and again it was rebuilt. It returned and the same fade then stop. I tried different combinations ie foot switch and clip chords but no change. I only have one power supply and no option to test the rest of my equipment. The guy who built my liner is convinced it is my power supply but im not too sure. after testing this last time I noticed the spring had blackened where it hits the contact screw and there were tiny flakes of brass from the contact screw on the frame. He told me this was normal but I have read otherwise. Surely if you were actually tattooing some one you would not want these tiny flakes coming off as the would most probably end up on or even worse in the tattoo. I also told him that as the power faded if I tightened the contact screw (tiny increments only) it would return its speed. I am lost the builder has a very good reputation in UK and being new to this do not want to bad mouth him. I would be grateful for any advise/help I only have this liner at the moment as my intentions were to practice lining only, kinda like disciplining myself to be steady and true with line work before attempting to shade/color.

Sounds like combination of your tattoo power supply, and your machine’s tuning.
      Check out Pulse or Eikon power supplies –
      I only use Pulse.

lostcause
      Participant