• This topic is empty.
Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      danielboone0

Okay, here’s the deal. I am a total novice. I’m more of a pen and paint kind of artist but I really enjoy the lack of permanence that skin offers. That said, I’m not terribly concerned with the condition of my own skin. I’ll ink it up with as many beginner tattoos as it takes for me to figure out the art! Practice skins just don’t feel natural. The needle bounces around and you don’t have to adjust to the stretch of real skin. I’m using a Hildbrandt rotary tattoo kit. Its nothing fancy. Somehow, even though its only a $99 kit, the lines aren’t bad and I’m not terribly mad at the quality of what’s coming out (because its all on my thighs and I’m willing to cannibalize them to learn on real skin). I’m using Mom’s ink for color, Kuro Sumi for black. I’m running my machines at roughly 6.5v +/-.5v and my black is staying in fairly well. I realized quickly that I’m going too deep with the needles and I’m getting the feel for that. My color on the other hand, still needs some work. I see that the color ink is thicker and I’ve attempted to adjust the needle position relative to the tube so it grabs up more ink or less for washes or light lines… I love learning this way. It hurts like hell, but I’ve had professional tattoos. I keep doing what they do-comparing the feel of what I do to the feel of what they do. I compare the sound of the machines, the strokes…I just observe and copy. Basically, I don’t see any harm in learning on myself. I think it shows commitment! I haven’t had any infections. I’m using disposable stuff. I don’t have an autoclave, only an ultrasonic cleaner (I don’t re-use stuff and I only tattoo myself thus far). That said, HELLO! I hope you can help me when I have questions. :D

RavenSpirit