• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      bcantrell

ok i used the practice skin and noticed the needle left a ditch in it, is that supposed to happen or did i do something wrong? what kind of damage persay is supposed to happen to the skin? should there be a ditch or is it supposed to just poke it? ive tried to find videos on this but cant seem to find any, any info would be appreciated. im a beginner not even a novice.

destructo

ive always used the analogy that practice skin is like pouring gas on styrofoam, its just how it acts. It lacks the elasticity of real skin and rigidness. Its basically meant to build confidence and help with practice, not actually look or behave like a real tattoo. Hope this helps

bcantrell

it does help thanks. another question i have is ive seen videos where the needle looks like its sticking out pretty far and ive seen another video that says the needle shouldnt stick out any further than the thickness of a nickle. is that true or is needle length just a personal choice over time?

destructo

its like this, if you are a beginner and are not in total comfort with or in control of your machine inside and out, you sld work off the tip of your tube, when you get a natural feel with it you can work off the tip of your needle. I use my tube tip for long lines and work off my needle for small intricate detail

Johnny