• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 reply threads
  • Author
      Infamous
      Participant

This is on my Dad, he’s going to let me cover it up because he hates it (can you guess why?) My question is what would you do with this? Its been there for years and its quite big and nasty looking, on the back side of the forearm.

Sorry about the crappy cell-phone pic

Lennart82
      Participant

WHAT THE????

What is this?? Light foot??

But hey, it looks faded, so you could do a ton of things. Whats his interests? What does he like? Anything?

Ramenuzumaki
      Participant

you could pretty much cover this with anything as long as it is a little bigger than the original tattoo and is pretty busy, IE: as much linework as possible. colour will help a lot as well

Infamous
      Participant

He was wanting something patriotic, and yeah it says light foot lol. You think it would be pretty easy to cover up with whatever? That would be awesome. I’ve never done a cover up before so I don’t know anything about it.

He has another one just like this on the other arm but it is nearly invisible and I’m not worried about it at all. I told him I could probably pump some white into that one and it would almost completely disappear. These were both prison style toothbrush and sewing needle tattoos btw, in case you hadn’t guessed

Infamous
      Participant

Any more input would be super helpful, like how do I even go about doing a cover up? Do I need to go in and thin the original with white to lighten it up? Or can I just go right over the top like the original doesn’t even exist?

Lennart82
      Participant

No dont use a wite undercoat. (Well you could do it, but dont) Find something, a design he likes. Maybe the flag or something.
      I see alot of thick lines, use them as much as possible in your new design.

I have seen alot of bad coverups, were they just black it. And thats the easy way imo. Use the lines thats already there, incorporate the original.