• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Kurgin

He is a pic of my very first time at doing a tat. I know the lines aren’t smooth. it is half a rose and half a skull. I got the idea from a photo I seen online. I know it is copping but I ant to try this first. Please comment on it. All criticism will be accepted. The stencil wore off before I got to the skull so that side of the tat I had to freehand it. Most of the people I have talked to say it is not bad for a first timer. I would like to hear from pros though.

Randy5
      Participant

I’m not a pro, but I think for your first tattoo it’s not bad. I think you just bit off more than you can chew by picking such a large piece at first. I started smaller. The lines look straight, but some look shallow, some look good and dark. Tattooing yourself is hard. I would say let it heal and then go back in and rework lines and start shading but do it in 3 or 4 sessions. You need to go slow at first. Congrats on taking the plunge!

Kurgin

Thanks for the compliment. I done this on my calf. It is about the size of a baseball. As far as the lines, I noticed it too. I am waiting for a complete heal so I can see the areas of improvement, what the lines look like and what I need to do to correct it. I am an over achiever. I did not want something small. I wanted something a little complicated. I believe this is a simple but complex piece. Thanks again for the compliment.

TexasPT

I’d say, speaking from experience, lay off of skin until you are more comfortable knowing exactly where your needle is going. You have a lot of “double vision” lines there…and it’s just form not being comfortable with where the needle exits your tube and being able to see and put it where you want.

Practice skins helped me with this.