• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author

Hello everyone! Let me start by saying that I’m very glad I’ve found this board, as I’ve already gained plenty of knowledge from it’s content and I already greatly appreciate everyone who has shared information.

I’ve always been fascinated by tattoos, the history of them, the meaning behind them, etc. My father is a military guy and is covered in tattoos. I have great respect for him and this is where I think my interest and respect for the tattoo industry stems. While I’m not a professional artist and have never been to art school, I have been drawing my whole life, so I think it was only natural to eventually want to pick up a tattoo machine. After some research on this board and on the web in general, I bought a kit from Hildbrandt. I didn’t want to end up with a shitty kit from e-bay but didn’t want to invest $500 or more in the equipment without being able to try my hand at it first. So, that’s where I am; lots of reading/research and waiting for my kit to come in the mail so I can give this a shot.

Let me start out by saying that I’m definitely not doing this for the money. I want to do it for my own enjoyment and so I can learn a new art form that I really do deeply respect. I do not plan on tattooing a human, especially not for money, until I’m 150% confident in my skill.